Hezekiah Alexander House

The Rock House

The Revolutionary War-era home of Hezekiah Alexander is located on the grounds of the Charlotte Museum of History. Built in 1774, this two story stone house is the oldest surviving structure in Mecklenburg County and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The house was preserved through the efforts of area chapters of the Daughters of the American Revolution starting in 1949. A second era of restoration was begun in 1969 by preservation architects and craftsmen drawing on archaeological evidence and using construction materials and techniques of the mid-1700s. Thanks to their efforts and the tireless determination of staff and volunteers to locate authentic period furniture, visitors can see the home as it might have looked when Hezekiah and Mary Alexander and their ten children lived there.

 

The Charlotte Museum of History
3500 Shamrock Drive, Charlotte, NC 28215
Phone: 704.568.1774

Site By:
EyeBenders